Eligibility criteria

FSSI’s Cert III in Individual Support and Cert IV Disability are subsidised by the Victorian Government.

You can check eligibility for a government subsidised place here and see information below.

Eligibility criteria for a government subsidised place

To be eligible for a government subsidised place, you must meet the Victorian Government eligibility criteria, which includes location, citizenship, age and education history, as outlined below. The program you have applied for must also be offering government subsidised places.

Location and citizenship

You must be physically present in Victoria for all of your studies. This includes attending training/classes that are delivered face-to-face on campus, and living in Victoria when studying courses delivered by distance or online.

You must also be either:

  • an Australian citizen, or
  • an Australian Permanent Resident (holder of a permanent visa), or
  • the holder of a Permanent Humanitarian visa (PHV), or
  • a New Zealand citizen.

Age and prior education

If you are 20 years of age or over as at 1 January in the year you start your program, you may be eligible if you are applying for a qualification higher than the qualification you have already completed,  and you meet the other eligibility criteria. 

Higher qualifications obtained overseas that have not been formally assessed for Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) equivalency will not be included in this criteria.

  • Applicants of any age whose existing highest qualification is a VCE, VCAL, International Baccalaureate Diploma, or an Australian senior secondary school certificate, may be eligible for a government subsidised place in a Certificate II level program or above.

Education history

To be eligible you:

  • Must not have started, or be due to start, more than two programs in a government subsidised place in the same calendar year.
  • Must not be currently enrolled in two or more programs in government subsidised places at the same time.
  • Must not have, in your lifetime, started two or more programs in a government subsidised place at the same AQF level (e.g. Advanced Diploma) as the program you are applying for.
  • Must not be currently enrolled in secondary school. This includes students enrolled in any government, non-government, independent, catholic or home school. School-based apprentices and trainees are exempt from this criteria.